Media Centre

Airport Authority Welcomes New Board Appointments


(HONG KONG, 30 May 2014)  –  Airport Authority Hong Kong (AA) today welcomed the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region’s appointments of four new members of the Board, as well as the reappointments of four existing members.

It was also announced that the incumbent Chairman of the AA, Dr Marvin Cheung Kin-tung, has decided to retire on completion of his current term on 31 May 2014. Vincent Lo Hong-sui will be appointed as Chairman for a one-year term effective 1 June 2014. Mr Lo has been serving on the Board since January 2013. Jack So Chak-kwong will subsequently serve as Chairman of the AA Board from 1 June 2015 and serve a term of three years.

The four reappointed members are Benjamin Hung Pi-cheng, who will serve for a term of one year; and Edward Cheng Wai-sun, the Honourable Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung and Ir Lee Shing-see, who will serve for three years. The four new members are Franklin Lam Fan-keung, Ir Lo Yiu-ching, Peter To and the Honourable Frankie Yick Chi-ming.  The terms are effective from 1 June 2014.

Dr Marvin Cheung Kin-tung said, “I am most grateful to the retiring members of the Board, who have made significant contributions to the AA over the years. During this time, timely and important decisions were made that will help the airport meet its future demand while strengthening Hong Kong’s position as a leading international and regional aviation hub.

"I would also like to welcome the new Chairman and Board members, who are highly regarded leaders in their fields. The collective wisdom of the Board will continue to guide the AA well for years to come," added Dr Cheung.

Commenting on the appointment, Mr Lo said, "I wish to thank the HKSAR Government for placing the trust in me in appointing me to the very challenging role of leading the AA in the next year. I have been on the Board since last year, and I fully understand the strategic importance of the airport to Hong Kong as an international business and financial hub, as well as leading the way for Lantau’s future development. With the planning for the three-runway system and North Commercial District entering decisive phases, it will be a huge challenge for the AA to have these important projects done right.  I will do my best and will work closely with the Board and management of the AA, together with all our stakeholders, in laying a firm foundation for the way forward of our airport’s development."

Dr Cheung was appointed as a member of the Board in June 2003, and subsequently as Chairman in June 2008. "It is with great regret that I have decided to retire as Chairman. This was a difficult decision, one that was made primarily due to personal health considerations," said Dr Cheung.

"It has been a privilege and an honour to have served the Board of the AA over the last 11 years. During this time, the Airport Authority has continued making excellent progress and has repeatedly been named one of the best airports in the world.

"I would also like to thank members of the Board for their unfailing support and valuable guidance given to me as well as their tremendous contribution to the AA over the years," added Dr Cheung. 

From 1 June 2014, the AA Board will comprise 16 members, namely:

Chairman: Vincent Lo Hong-sui

Members: The Honourable Chan Kam-lam Edward Cheng Wai-sun Anita Fung Yuen-mei The Honourable Albert Ho Chun-yan Benjamin Hung Pi-cheng Franklin Lam Fan-keung The Honourable Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung Ir Lo Yiu-ching Ir Lee Shing-see Peter To The Honourable Frankie Yick Chi-ming Secretary for Transport and Housing Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury Director-General of Civil Aviation Chief Executive Officer, Airport Authority (ex officio)

Media Enquiry Hotline:
+852 2188 7152
Contact Email:
Airport Authority Website:
Customer Enquiry Hotline:
+852 2181 8888